Electronic Recycling


The list of acceptable electronics for recycling has EXPANDed under a two-year pilot project.

What is the electronics recycling pilot project?

The electronics recycling pilot is a two-year project that expands the scope of electronic products Albertans can recycle without adding new consumer fees, operated by the Alberta Recycling Management Authority (ARMA).

Below are examples of additional electronic items that residents can now recycle as part of this program.

Please note: Electronic recycling is only available at Kneehill County’s Linden and Torrington Transfer Sites and at the Town of Trochu’s Transfer Site.

Small Appliances

  • Clock
  • Fan
  • Hair dryer
  • Heater
  • Iron
  • Microwave
  • Residential Air Conditioner
  • Toaster
  • Shaver
  • Vacuum

Audio Visual

  • CD Player
  • Clock Radio
  • Digital Camera
  • DVD Player
  • Headphones
  • Satellite Dish
  • Satellite Radio
  • Speaker
  • Video Camera

Telecom Devices

  • Answering Machine
  • Cell Phone
  • Landline Phone
  • Modem and Router
  • Pager
  • Satellite Phone
  • Speakerphone

Power and Air Tools

  • Drill
  • Grinder
  • Miter Saw
  • Nail Gun
  • Residential Air Compressor
  • Sharpener
  • Shop Vacuum
  • Skillsaw
  • Table Saw

Games, Toys and Music

  • Action Figure
  • Amplifier
  • Guitar
  • Keyboard
  • Microphone
  • Ride-on Toy
  • Toy Robot
  • Toy Vehicle
  • Video Gaming

Some items, such as commercial electronics and items containing bulbs, will NOT be accepted.

Questions about acceptable items?

Please visit albertarecycling.ca/epilot for more information.